The Last Ten Days

I’m actually well into the last ten days.  The month will be over in a week – which shows I’ve been contemplating this post for quite a while and not getting much further than the title!

I think it’s because I’ve been finding myself thinking ahead. Wondering what I’m going to do next, instead of focusing properly on what I am doing now.  I don’t want Simplify7 to finish next Thursday, but I’m not sure where it’s going…and I’ve come to the conclusion that’s God’s way of telling me that I need to just remember what I’m supposed to be doing now and not worry about the future.  He’ll let me know in good time.

So, I’ve now completed 24 days of chicken, bread, tomatoes, onions, bananas, sweet potatoes and spinach, and I have to admit that I would really like to eat something different.  However, as I’ve said before, it’s all about perspective: I’ve just gone into the kitchen to discover that the chicken I cooked earlier – and was planning on having for lunch tomorrow –  has disappeared.  I further discovered the mauled remains under the dining table where it had been left by one of my delightful cats!  There is no more chicken.  And now that I’m facing lunch of bread, onions, tomatoes and spinach…I really, really want some chicken!!!

I guess it’s my own fault for not sharing earlier.

This isn’t actually my cat – but it gives you a fair idea of how sorry he looks right now i.e. not very!

Other than chicken (which I wasn’t missing at all until a few minutes ago) it’s surprisingly ordinary things that I’m looking forward to being able to eat again: mushrooms, strawberries, breakfast cereal…

I came across this article the other day, published on a friend’s Facebook page.

Inside a refugee camp: Everywhere I look I see children’s lives being disrupted

I probably only followed the link because I have been thinking and praying about the refugee crisis since the start of Simplify7.  I’ve been trying – and failing – to imagine what it must be like to be a refugee.  This article (from the Irish Times) is a powerful yet simple illustration.  It’s about missing a loved one’s voice and the touch of their hand; it’s about lives being put on hold and lost potential; it’s about doubt and worry.  But it’s also about learning how to live in a different way, with different people and unfamiliar situations.  It’s a lesson in perspective.

It should go without saying, but it sometimes seems to be forgotten: terrible, terrible situations have caused those refugees to leave their homes in search of a better life.  Terrible things are still happening to them – even if they are basically safe. This Save The Children video highlights just one aspect of that human tragedy.

Here, we worry about children missing the odd day – or taking a family holiday that means they miss a couple of weeks.  Our children are looking forward excitedly to the long summer break.  These children are missing an entire education.  What are they learning instead?

In just a few more days, normal life can resume for me.  It could resume right now if that’s what I wanted. I feel so blessed to have all those choices to make – even though Simplify7 is about intentionally reducing them so that I can better understand the choices God wants me to make.  I can’t help but think these last ten days are just the beginning of something else – that this month has just been preparation, a way to (re)open my eyes to see that I’m needed to make a contribution.  But what that might be is not yet so clear…

 

Leave a Reply

