Money ‘n’ stuff

If only there were more than 24 hours in a day… I’m sure I would end up filling them with more activity and still not get enough sleep!  January has passed me by in such a mad rush that avoiding spending money has been almost a relief.  Yes, I had to manage without some things that I would like to have had – but not having to find the time to go to the shop and buy them was a definite plus.

Image result for time money

On the other hand, life has been so busy that there hasn’t been much time for reflection or learning.  Or maybe there has, but I’ve just been too tired to pay much attention! In many ways it has been the easiest month of Simplify 7 so far, but I have to wonder if that’s partly because I planned it to make sure the ‘essentials’ were covered – the things that I had to do, the things I really cared about.  Going without the ‘add ons’ isn’t such a big stretch in those circumstances.

Mind you, I made up for it last weekend.  A short break to visit a friend and I spent more in two days than I spent in the whole of January.  A short time of restraint was a good way to heighten awareness of how fortunate I am.  It was good to enjoy a meal, a trip to the theatre, a few coffees…I feel very blessed.

But it’s February now and a new month of Simplify 7 is under way.  It’s the penultimate month of the whole project and I decided it was time to tackle some of the ‘stuff’ that has the potential to clutter up my life.

I’m not a hoarder.  I have friends and family who find it hard to part with anything – even if it’s too worn, damaged, old-fashioned or just plain useless ever to be put to a practical purpose again.  I’m not criticising – I just don’t get it.  I think I’m more towards the thoughts of William Morris on the subject.

Image result for have nothing in your house that

Of course, beauty (and probably usefulness too) is in the eye of the beholder.  I’m sure people might look at some of what I hold dear and wonder what I was thinking!  It’s not always obvious why we can’t bear to part with something…the beauty in something of purely sentimental value is often hidden and unexplainable.  I don’t think it’s something we should try too hard to evaluate.

But at the same time, I sometimes find myself looking around at all my ‘stuff’ and realise it’s just that: neither beautiful nor useful.  At least, not any more.  And not to me.

It’s time to let go.

So, in this month of Simplify 7, I am aiming to have a clear out.  Call it a spring clean if you like…and feel free to join in!  In the spirit of 7, I’m tackling 7 particular types of ‘stuff’ – all of which lurk in abundance in various corners of my home and much of which has the potential to bring beauty or usefulness to someone else if I can manage to take the step of releasing it!

  • Jewellery
  • Handbags
  • Shoes
  • Clothes
  • Toiletries
  • Work ‘stuff’
  • Books

We’re already nearly a quarter of the way through the month, and so far I have to confess that all I have done is think about what needs to happen.  But the commitment is there now…and somehow it will happen.

Image result for time quotes

One thought on “Money ‘n’ stuff

Leave a Reply

